Saturday, August 8, 2015

BADASS AUTHOR, PAULA STOKES

Paula Stokes writes stories about flawed characters with good hearts who sometimes make bad decisions. She’s the author of THE ART OF LAINEY, INFINITE REPEAT, LIARS INC., and several other forthcoming YA novels. When she's not writing, she's kayaking, hiking, reading, or seeking out new adventures in faraway lands.

Now, let's get to know this badass.

What is your favorite word? liaison

What is your least favorite word? blog

What sound or noise do you love? ocean waves
  
What sound or noise do you hate? the email alert on my phone
  
What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? 
zoo keeper, pet detective, magician’s assistant

What profession would you not like to do? express lane cashier

What is your favorite color Popsicle? Mmm! Green!

Sprinklers or Slip N Slide? Sprinklers

Favorite John Hughes Movie? I am pissed to find out neither The Sure Thing nor Better off Dead were by John Hughes. My whole life is a lie. I’m gonna go with Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. That or Weird Science

Last song you listened to? Centuries by Fall Out Boy

What book do you wish you would have written because it’s just that good? Going Bovine

In one sentence or less, what does every aspiring-author need to know? Writing will make you into a crazy person if you let it.

Right?! BAD.ASS!

Here's a peek at LIARS, INC., which is included in the THE USUAL SUSPECTS prize pack:



Click here for a full list of prize packs

For fans of Gone Girl, I Hunt Killers, and TV's How to Get Away with Murder.

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell forged permission slips and cover stories to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts Liars, Inc. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.


Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? In a story that Kirkus Reviews called "Captivating to the very end," Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters.

Paula loves interacting with readers. You can stalk her on her website or on twitter. And be sure to add her books to your Goodreads list.

NOW, HURRY UP AND ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!!




 
*Many thanks to James Lipton for letting me steal sharing his awesome interview questions*